Wednesday, September 9, 2015

Review: The Boyfriend List by E. Lockhart (Ruby Oliver Quartet, Book 1)

Synopsis: Ruby Oliver is 15 and has a shrink. She knows it’s unusual, but give her a break—she’s had a rough 10 days. In the past 10 days she: lost her boyfriend (#13 on the list), lost her best friend (Kim), lost all her other friends (Nora, Cricket), did something suspicious with a boy (#10), did something advanced with a boy (#15), had an argument with a boy (#14), drank her first beer (someone handed it to her), got caught by her mom (ag!), had a panic attack (scary), lost a lacrosse game (she’s the goalie), failed a math test (she’ll make it up), hurt Meghan’s feelings (even though they aren’t really friends), became a social outcast (no one to sit with at lunch) and had graffiti written about her in the girls’ bathroom (who knows what was in the boys’!?!). But don’t worry—Ruby lives to tell the tale. And make more lists. (from the inside cover)

Review: I actually didn't read this. I listened to the audiobook. It was a good read. Ruby felt mostly real. Lockhart nailed the strange mix of confusion and confidence you have as a teenager. Ruby had an extensive vocabulary and she used it well. I enjoyed that. She also did a fine job of giving the characters one view and the reader another - meaning, the reader knows Jackson is a two-face cheater, but Ruby doesn't - she has the naivety of someone who hasn't learned that sort of thing yet. The secondary characters differing personality and even some depth. But in the end, the book just had too much drama for me to be believable. So while I was entertained by the story, and even found some humorous parts, in the end, there was just too much nonsense. It reminded me of some those angsty CW TV shows - which I hate. I probably won't read the rest in the series.

Bookmarks: 6 of 10

Awards: None

ISBN: 0-385-73206-6
Date Finished: 8-4-2015
Pages: 229

No comments:

Post a Comment